It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 4:24 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Firmware 0.67 bug? 
Author Message
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:01 pm
Posts: 15
 Firmware 0.67 bug?
Shortly after upgrading to firmware v. 0.67 I've started to see garbage on some key images. For a day it was just the CTRL, OPT, APPLE, shift and "A" keys. But now I'm starting to see it on some other keys as well, "F", "G" and "7". None of these keys have layer images - they are just using the default function and images. Another odd thing is that the garbage images appear to be persistent--it is the same garbled image and usually, but not always on the same key.

Lastly, if I go the configurator and manually change one of the garbled keys to something else, e.g., change ^ to ctrl and back, the image is ok for some period, then the garbage returns.

I'd like to rollback to previous firmware to check. How do I do that?

Thanks.


Attachments:
OM prob.jpg
OM prob.jpg [ 109.39 KiB | Viewed 12771 times ]
Wed Jun 11, 2008 2:55 pm
Profile

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 9:09 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Switzerland
Post Re: Firmware 0.67 bug?
I think, it is the same problem as discribed / discussed here viewtopic.php?f=4&t=89#p476 occurred on a Windows environment.

I had the same problem (on Windows) and have downgraded to firmware V062b which works properly in this case, but with the slow speed :-/ I think a downgrade will fit this problem also on a Mac environment.

I will wait for the next Firmware Version and try to upgrade again.


Wed Jun 11, 2008 6:15 pm
Profile
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:01 pm
Posts: 15
Post Re: Firmware 0.67 bug?
The new(er) configurator is supposed to support downgrading the firmware directly. I have the 0.62b firmware download but when I try to browse for "specific firmware file" in the Updates dialog (on the Mac), it won't let me select the OM113_V062b.zip file.

Thanks.


Thu Jun 12, 2008 12:35 am
Profile

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:43 am
Posts: 33
Location: UK
Post Re: Firmware 0.67 bug?
Hi there!

I've noticed that I get the "garbage" you talk about on a different set of
keys. Usually on the number pad on the far right.

One thing I have noticed is that I get this "garbage" when the temperature
gets above a certain level. Unfortunately, I don't know for certain what
that temperature is but I do believe it's due to the heat.

I also had it happen on the previous version of the firmware.

I usually let keyboard cool down a little before using it again. That does
the trick.


Fri Jun 13, 2008 1:53 pm
Profile YIM

Joined: Wed Mar 05, 2008 9:09 pm
Posts: 13
Location: Switzerland
Post Re: Firmware 0.67 bug?
Thaks for the input with the temperature!

In my case it was the left "Shift, Ctrl and Win" key which makes trouble. But the occuring of the problem does not correlate with the room temperature in my case. My room temperature is normaly below 25°C and the OM stands on a massive wood plate without any external heat source arround.

"Unfortunately" there was no very hot days that I can remember since I have downgraded to firmware V062b.

I will have a peer to the temperature during the next time and will report if I see some correspondent effects.


Fri Jun 13, 2008 9:55 pm
Profile

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 2:43 am
Posts: 33
Location: UK
Post Re: Firmware 0.67 bug?
Hi there! Hope you're all well.

Well, if you have downgraded to the previous version of the
firmware, and aren't getting any problems, then perhaps,
there may be an issue with the latest version of the firmware?

Gurit, I guess, like you say, the only sure fire way to know
is to experience a hot day or warmer conditions.

If it isn't due to the heat, then I guess I get the "garbage"
after 2-3 hours of use. What causes the OLEDs to get garbage
after 2-3 hours of use and not before I really don't know.

I'll keep you guys posted if I find anything different.

Ashraf


Sun Jun 15, 2008 6:57 am
Profile YIM
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2008 3:01 pm
Posts: 15
Post Re: Firmware 0.67 bug?
Downgrade to 0.62b seems to have resolved the issue.

I don't think it's heat, by the way. Prior to 0.67 I never saw this behavior, despite temperatures exceeding 30C indoors during the day.

Does anyone know if the manual downgrade in the Mac Configurator is implemented yet? The dialog doesn't allow you to select a .ebn file. Or is the Mac version looking for a different binary format?

Thanks.


Fri Jun 20, 2008 12:00 am
Profile
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © phpBB Group.
Designed by Vjacheslav Trushkin for Free Forum/DivisionCore.