Everything Optimus
http://everythingoptimus.com/

Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?
http://everythingoptimus.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=29
Page 1 of 3

Author:  Atarian [ Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:17 am ]
Post subject:  Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

I haven't been able to complete the instructions on this page:
http://www.artlebedev.com/everything/optimus/firmware/

I can only get up to half way through step 6, I can't "Return to the Mode -> Program.", so I can't do anything beyond this point.
It gives me a topology (i think) error when I try and I can't do anything about it.

The configurator now shows that I have the most recent firmware, but I'm not too sure.

I should add that I have now tried this on vista (with and without sp1), and xp.

*edit*
I had to click "new topology" in the massdfu program and then unplug the keyboard USB cable and plug it back in. Then the program saw the keyboard and was able to program it.

Author:  FunkySkunK [ Thu Mar 20, 2008 5:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

jus disconnect the power and plug it back in, that will `return to mode`

mine says 0.62b

Author:  dalep [ Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:35 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

Hi,

Try this post:http://everythingoptimus.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=11

My instructions might be a little clearer...

Dale

Author:  Atarian [ Thu Mar 20, 2008 6:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

tried again with your instructions, same error. I can't get past step 6.

the "please select number of devices visible in program mode" doesn't drop down to anything but 0

Author:  dalep [ Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:25 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

I dont want to teach you to suck eggs, but if the box shows zero, there are really only 2 reasons

1, the driver for the kb was not loaded in windows (use XP really)

2, the keyboard is NOT in target mode. make sure you removed the power and usb leads, press AND HOLD the switch inside the kensington lock hole, KEEP pressing whilst replacing power cable.

This ought to put the keyboard in target mode.

Author:  Atarian [ Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

I got an email from support, you dont need to flash the firmware like that anymore, the configurator handles it,. so i'm all set.

Author:  dalep [ Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:52 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

Hi,

If the firmware is below .60b then it WILL need to be flashed by hand just the once. After that the facility to take auto updates is enabled in the firmware.

If you keyboard is an early one, it will need to be done just the once by hand.

Dale

P.S do you get a drive show up call VirtualDisk, when you open My Computer (or on the desktop on MAC), if so, its already at a suitable level to be done via configurator.

Author:  Atarian [ Thu Mar 20, 2008 11:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

yup, configurator did it, i have the folder.

thanks again!

Author:  editor58 [ Fri Mar 21, 2008 2:38 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

dalep wrote:
Hi,

If the firmware is below .60b then it WILL need to be flashed by hand just the once. After that the facility to take auto updates is enabled in the firmware.

If you keyboard is an early one, it will need to be done just the once by hand.

Dale

P.S do you get a drive show up call VirtualDisk, when you open My Computer (or on the desktop on MAC), if so, its already at a suitable level to be done via configurator.


Dale:
I have NEVER seen an SD Drive Icon in MY COMPUTER. I have 6b and 0.0.0.6
It Just never shows up.

Now if the configurator is NOT running, the KB Defaults to the internal layout.
If the Configutator IS running, I get the layout from it.

Now I know I flashed correctly, but this is odd. If I disconnect the KB's USB, then I get a message to DL an upgrade (6b)... which I already have.

What would YOU suggest?

-editor

Author:  dalep [ Fri Mar 21, 2008 10:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Has anyone been able upgrade with their instructions?

mmm, i dont really know. My keyboard was an early one

I manually upgraded the firmware using my instructions to .61b, then the new version of configurator upgraded it up to 0.62b

The virtualdisk that shows up is NOT the SD card, it is quite small, seems only about 2 meg or so.

Do you have .60,.61 or .62b as there are differences.

All I know, if the keyboard is on the latest firmware, it work pretty well...

I will set it up on a PC tomorrow and see if there is anything I can figure out, I am using mine mainly on a mac.

dale

Page 1 of 3 All times are UTC + 10 hours
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/